A Girl, A Boy, and a Graveyard

A Girl, A Boy, and a Graveyard

ooooh

oooooh

lucy takes the long way home
meets me in a field of stone
she says “i don’t know how i’m s’pose to feel
my body’s cold my guts are twisted steel.”

and i feel like i’m some kind of frankenstein
waiting for a shock to bring me back to life
but i don’t want to spend my time
waiting for lightning to strike.

ooooh

oooooh

so underneath the concrete sky
lucy puts her hand in mine
she says “life’s a game we’re meant to lose.
but stick by me and i will stick by you.”

cause i’m like a princess in a castle high
waiting for a kiss to bring me back to life
but i don’t want to spend my time
waiting for just another guy.

ooooh

oooooh

-Jeremy Messersmith

I heard this song today, and some of the lyrics just struck me on how I’ve been feeling lately.  Like I’m a shell of a person waiting for life to return.  I also realized how very lucky I am to have my Other Half.  How he helps the best he can.

Regardless it doesn’t change how my brain likes to trick me.  Make things like going to Walmart so hard…granted it wasn’t the best call on my part to choose to go in the afternoon on a Saturday.  What was I thinking?  As soon as we walked in I coud feel how many people were in the store.  A few things I needed to pick up were sold out.  There goes my frustration level. People.  Everywhere PEOPLE.  Are they judging me?  By the end of the trip, standing in line waiting…it was like being boxed in and all I wanted to do was run.  Or cry.  I held it together.  Whew.

It’s taken some time relaxing at home to get back down from that anxiety attack.  But I picked up some new water color paper and brushes so maybe painting today will help.

The Spider

The Spider © Lindsey Sheret Reuse of this image is prohibited without consent of the photographer.

2 thoughts on “A Girl, A Boy, and a Graveyard

Leave a Reply

