Why I hate the unexpected.

Today I went to the local DSS building to get this paperwork my therapist told me to get and she would help me with. Sounds so easy.

The Other Half and I ventured out when I was ready. We got there. Through the metal detector. Almost done. Wait for the receptionist. Seems like forever. Finally I’m at the window. I explain I’m there for paperwork to get temporary assistance due to mental illness. I’m then told to fill out a piece of paper and I’d have to meet with someone.

Wait. What?!

Breath.

Ok. I can do this.

Working on filling out the paper the room fills up. Next thing I know someone is on the phone attached to the wall near me. Standing. Talking loudly. Right in my space. I move over. This is apparently invitation to move MORE into my space.

I’m crowded in now. The room is full. I can’t concentrate. Breath. I need to breath. I want to cry. Run away back to the car. Go home. I get very fidgety, shaking my foot. This is not good.

But I wait.

My name is finally called. I meet with a very bored DSS worker. She tells me a lot of info about the paperwork and assistance I can qualify for. It’s hard to concentrate. My anxiety is through the roof. I just want to go home.

I’m finally given my paperwork. I can fill it out there or take it home. But I have to turn it in within 24 hours or I have to go through this all over.

Great…

I choose to take it home and leave.

Home brings relief but also an overflow of emotions. It takes about 15 minuets to really calm down.

Relax.

Breath.

I felt betrayed. Like I was set up. If I’d known I had to do so much there I would have prepared more. Gone earlier when it would be less busy.

But. The ball is rolling now. Tomorrow means I have to go back to drop off the paperwork. Little steps. I also meet with the therapist again tomorrow, then the nurse the day after. I hope that means I can get some relief for these symptoms.

Tonight I’m taking the last of my ambian to get some sleep tonight as I’ve had so many issues sleeping and staying asleep.

Leave a Reply

