The day the internet returned.

Today was the day the internet returned.  Without for 2 weeks, I nearly hit my data cap on my phone.  And without the internet my blogging slowed down, since typing on my phone was not so fun.

So here I am, so jazzed to have internet again, to write a post like a real girl on my laptop.  So excited to be able to post without the issues, and I had nothing I wanted to write about.  All these glorious ideas I had locked away, gone.  Isn’t that always the way?

Instead I went off to my therapy appointment, thinking that would get me going and ready to write.

Nothing.

Ok…so lets find something else to do.  Thats when the Other Half suggested I make some homemade grain free doggie treats for our old man since we were out of treats, and well, it was less expensive in the long run to make them.  Now.  Let me say this first.  I am in no way a baker.  I do not bake.  Too much of being precise, when I cook I go with the flow.  That does not work well for baking.  But I figured, its dog treats, how hard can they be?  Honestly.  VERY easy.  I made three batches, one of peanut butter and banana, one pumpkin and peanut butter, last batch I added chopped up dried cranberries to the banana and peanut butter.  Rojin went nuts for all three.  I am now the proud owner of FIVE baggies of treats now.  Some will be making their way to the parents houses for their furry friends.  The rest to my very spoiled old man.

1 medium banana, mashed
3 tablespoons creamy (natural) peanut butter
1 large egg
1 3/4 cup garbanzo bean flour (I used gluten free flour)
*1/4 cup rolled oats (*optional as this is a type of grain)

(I added 1/4 cup of chopped cranberries to this and it turned out great)

 

1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.

2. In a small bowl, mix together the banana, peanut butter and egg; mix until completely combined. To a medium bowl, add the flour and rolled oats; mix. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine until the dough comes together.

2. Transfer the dough to a piece of heavily floured wax paper. Note: The dough will be sticky so flouring everything (wax paper, rolling pin and cookie cutter) is important. Roll the dough to a 1/4-inch thickness and cut out the cookies using a cookie cutter of choice. Re-roll the scraps and cut out more cookies. (I used a small heart cookie cutter and ended up with 22 cookies.) Transfer the cookies to a parchment-lined baking sheet. These cookies won’t spread so placing them close together is okay. If you don’t want to roll the dough out, alternatively, you can scoop teaspoons of dough onto a baking sheet, flattening the cookies with the ball of your palm.

3. Bake the cookies for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown. Allow the cookies to come to room temperature on a cooling rack. Cookies will be good for up to 2 weeks in an airtight container.

 

http://acozykitchen.com/grain-free-dog-treats/

These were the biggest hit. I even dropped off some to our friends who live on our block with dogs.  I suppose I was trying to people please again.  Its something that my therapist and I talked about a lot today.  Apparently part of my diagnosis was Borderline Personality Disorder.  I need to make people happy, because in my mind it is the only reason they will like me.  I will do anything and everything to make others happy.  But that will be something to ramble on tomorrow about.

Today marked day Three of starting the Viibryd.  I’m not sure if its making me feel any different.  It is making me hungry.  All the time. Like.  I want to eat ALL the food.  Which isn’t a bad thing currently as I do need to eat more.  Otherwise, I feel like I’m not sleeping as well, and when I do sleep I have very vivid dreams.

Leave a Reply

